The Awakening!

Well, all I can say is: it’s about time!

That’s all.

Wait! Before the thought of even deciding to get your I’ve-got-more-important-things-to-do-than-read-this-simply-boring-post busy self away from this post, just pause for a moment. Take in a very deep breath (very very slowly), then breathe out…….and give a sista a chance.

Huh! The first time I thought about this title, I pictured myself in my tiny dark laptop-lit room, drapes closed, watching a zombie movie. Alone. Then…(wait for it)…..a Zombie pops out of nowhere! (Yeah, I know you kind of saw that coming).
Well, this is an awakening, but not of that caliber. It is more of an internal happening than one outward.

I will explain briefly.

How many times have you heard of the three-worded sentence (and yes, I know, they could be four words, hehe), ‘Don’t give up?’ Don’t answer.
It’s a rhetorical question 🙂

Anyway, for my case, it has been a countless number of times, and believe you me, it has not only disappointed, but also pissed off (just a few times of course), the chosen few bestowed with the privilege of ushering those words to my ears for those many many times. Sigh! I’ve given up. A lot! I tend to think it even became a habit.

Well, a word of encouragement to those chosen few. I have also been a victim of that vicious cycle. Yes, me! As a matter of fact, it has angered me and destroyed my peace of mind. True story.
The meticulous dance of rising and sheepishly falling in the game called “pushing harder in life” had me performing with two left feet, if you know what I mean.

ahwakenin

But,”Enough is enough” is what I said to myself.
For too long I had been crying myself to sleep, feeling sorry for myself and comparing myself to others, after every ” Olympus has fallen” (or is it “Olyvia has fallen”?) encounter in my life – just to mean,  when my walls came  tumbling and crumbling down.

So you ask, “What’s the difference between now and the other times you fell? What stirred up the change?” Good question.
And the answer is quite simple. GOD.

I know. I know. Almost everyone nowadays answers,”It is God” to many of the ground-breaking, or even the little mundane success stories in their lives. Some do not even know what they answer so or even why they do so.
Okay, back to my story. You want me to elaborate briefly? Yes? No? I will tell you anyway.

I stopped viewing myself, my successes as well as my failures from the eyes of men (me included, of course) and began to perceive life through the colorful Vision of My Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Please, get me right. I don’t mean that I’ve gone to the extreme of blindfolding myself or all my friends, family and acquaintances for that matter. What I mean is, the magnified version of myself as well as my view of life tends towards God’s view of me and life itself.

God says, in Jeremiah 29:11 :

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.


Psalm 139:1-18 goes on to say how God loves us and deeply cares for us, and how every little detail of our individual lives matter to Him:

You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
    you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before,
    and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
    too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
    How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.

awakened sleeper

 Finally, Isaiah 52:1-3 says:

Awake, awake, Zion,
    clothe yourself with strength!
Put on your garments of splendor,
    Jerusalem, the holy city.
The uncircumcised and defiled
    will not enter you again.
Shake off your dust;
    rise up, sit enthroned, Jerusalem.
Free yourself from the chains on your neck,
    Daughter Zion, now a captive.

For this is what the Lord says:

“You were sold for nothing,
    and without money you will be redeemed.”

For too long, I had been sleeping, but this awoke something in me!

And now? I am on fire!
No matter how small the fire is, it’s still there.

The awakening has begun! And the fact that you are here reading this blog post, means that yes! It is has happened.

As it is said, a journey of a thousand miles begins with one step. This blog is a step of faith (moving on towards a leap). It is my journey of discovering, sharing and pouring out whatever blesses my heart all to the glory of God.

To new begins!

To the awakening!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

